Page 1 of 1
Cant make avr-gdb work with codelite
Posted: Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:45 am
by zainka
Hi
I keep strugling having avr-gdb working in codelite bot when using avarice and simulavr.
The settings I use are as follow:
In Settings general tab i have:
Debugger = GNU gdb debugger (the only option)
Program = the elf file i will debugg
Progargs = <empty>
working directory = the path to where my elf file is
Under settings debugger tab i have :
debugger path = /usr/local/avr/avr-gdb
Debugging remote target is checked
Host/tty = localhost Port = 1234
I use avarice towards jtagice or simulavr set up to listen to port 1234. Using avr-gdb command line works pretty well, but command line is command line and i would like to have it working with codelite. My problem is that after atrating debug session it immediate goes into continue and do not break in main. Yes, break in main option IS set.
Any help appreciate
Breg
Vidar
Re: Cant make avr-gdb work with codelite
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:55 am
by eranif
Please post relevant information as described in this sticky post:
http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=804#p3562
Eran
Re: Cant make avr-gdb work with codelite
Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 11:05 pm
by zainka
Codelite version : 2.8.0.4537
Downloaded from Codelite.org
Running on LinuxMint 10 (an Ubuntu variant)
Linux version 2.6.35-22-generic (buildd@rothera) (gcc version 4.4.5 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.4.4-14ubuntu4) ) #33-Ubuntu SMP Sun Sep 19 20:34:50 UTC 2010
avr-gdb version GNU gdb 6.8
Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This GDB was configured as "--host=i686-pc-linux-gnu --target=avr".
Output in codelite debug window with full debugger logging
Code: Select all
.gdbinit file was backup to /home/zainka/.gdbinit.backup
Using gdbinit file: /home/zainka/.gdbinit
Failed to initialize debugger: /usr/local/avr/bin/avr-gdb
Debugging from comandline works as it should
Re: Cant make avr-gdb work with codelite
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 10:07 am
by eranif
zainka wrote:Output in codelite debug window with full debugger logging
Is this the entire log?
Also, do you have any errors in the 'Trace' tab?
zainka wrote:Debugging from comandline works as it should
You already mentioned that in the first post
Eran
Re: Cant make avr-gdb work with codelite
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 2:15 pm
by zainka
Is this the entire log?
Also, do you have any errors in the 'Trace' tab?
Thats entire log, yes. The how to post tutorial did however say that the setting for choosing full debugger should be under settings -> debugger settings -> enable full debugger logging. Thats not where I found it, It was inside the debugger output window itself.
zainka wrote:Debugging from comandline works as it should
You already mentioned that in the first post
Yes I know...
But. I transfered the project to another PC with the same tool setup and versions. This time I did succeed in connecting to the debugger. I will look into the trace window on the old PC, I do not have it here with me now, but I guess the log will tell a story. If not I will delete .codelite folder to have it running as new. Prob. I have got something mixed up fooling codelite somehow.
Re: Cant make avr-gdb work with codelite
Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 10:47 pm
by eranif
zainka wrote: how to post tutorial did however say that the setting for choosing full debugger should be under settings -> debugger settings -> enable full debugger logging. Thats not where I found it, It was inside the debugger output window itself.
Yes, it is placed there as well for convenience (for quickly enable / disable it without the need to open the debugger settings dialog)
Eran