Page 1 of 1

Can't debug my console app

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 4:34 am
by superbaby98
Hi,
Thanks for the great job. I really love the debugger pane in CL. I've tried some simple codes and the debugger(gdb) works fine, but while I build a console application which is much more complex and start debugging, gdb reports an error "Asynchronous execution not supported on this target.", and can't not continue. I don't know what's wrong, as I have the same version of gdb works fine while debugging the same application in CodeBlocks. My CL revision: 3681, running on WindowsXP. Could anybody help? Thanks.

Re: Can't debug my console app

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:43 am
by eranif
superbaby98 wrote:gdb reports an error "Asynchronous execution not supported on this target."
Please post here the complete debugger log from codelite.

How to do that?

- before debugging, clear the debugger pane (there is a little red X button on the LEFT side of the 'Debug' pane - click it)
- tick the little checkbox that says: 'enable debugger full logging' - it is on top of the 'Debug' pane
- start debugging your code
- when you see the error, copy / paste here the entire log that you got

Eran

Re: Can't debug my console app

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:22 am
by superbaby98
Here is the log:

Code: Select all

Using gdbinit file: C:\DOCUME~1\liwei\LOCALS~1\Temp\codelite_gdbinit.txt
Current working dir: E:\dreams_codelite\src\cxx\srv\eqpsrv
Launching gdb from : ./Debug
Starting debugger  : gdb --command="C:\DOCUME~1\liwei\LOCALS~1\Temp\codelite_gdbinit.txt" --interpreter=mi "./eqpsrv.exe"
DEBUG>>set  new-console on
DEBUG>>set unwindonsignal on
DEBUG>>set width 0
DEBUG>>set height 0
DEBUG>>set print pretty on
DEBUG>>set print elements 200
Debug session started successfully!
DEBUG>>00000021-exec-run "set domain=CSMC.FAB2.DEV.DENGY" "set scheduleweight=10" "set scheduleheartbeat=3" "set scheduleactivetime=10"  "set port=7500" "set daemon=tcp:7500" -s PSC.DEV.DREAMS -t 33  -du mesdev -dp mes_t08 -dn MESDEV "inc \dreams\bin\init\eqpsrv.ini" &
DEBUG>>~"GNU gdb 6.7.50.20071127\n"
GNU gdb 6.7.50.20071127
DEBUG>>~"Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.\n"
Copyright (C) 2007 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
DEBUG>>~"License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>\n"
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
DEBUG>>~"This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.\n"
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
DEBUG>>~"There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type \"show copying\"\n"
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
DEBUG>>~"and \"show warranty\" for details.\n"
and "show warranty" for details.
DEBUG>>~"This GDB was configured as \"i686-pc-mingw32\"...\n"
This GDB was configured as "i686-pc-mingw32"...
DEBUG>>&"set  new-console on\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set unwindonsignal on\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set width 0\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set height 0\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set print pretty on\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>&"set print elements 200\n"
DEBUG>>^done
DEBUG>>00000021^running
Continuing...
DEBUG>>&"Asynchronous execution not supported on this target.\n"
DEBUG>>00000021^error,msg="Asynchronous execution not supported on this target."
Asynchronous execution not supported on this target.

Re: Can't debug my console app

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:11 pm
by eranif
superbaby98 wrote:DEBUG>>00000021-exec-run "set domain=CSMC.FAB2.DEV.DENGY" "set scheduleweight=10" "set scheduleheartbeat=3" "set scheduleactivetime=10" "set port=7500" "set daemon=tcp:7500" -s PSC.DEV.DREAMS -t 33 -du mesdev -dp mes_t08 -dn MESDEV "inc \dreams\bin\init\eqpsrv.ini" &
Some comments:
1) codelite does not use the gdb in the same way as code-blocks - codelite uses the MI interface, while code-blocks is using the CLI (AFAIK, this is about to change since codeblocks is moving to the new MI interface as well)
2) the problem with command you are running is that you are trying to run it in the background '&' - is this really necessary? I suspect that if you remove the '&' at the end of the command gdb will be able to debug it.

Eran

Re: Can't debug my console app

Posted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:31 pm
by superbaby98
Yes, it's completely unnecessary to append the '&' sign, remove the char and it works. thanks very much!