I find custom build very useful and a reason to use the IDE in its own right; but it's not quite as flexible as it could be. Here are some suggestions and a couple of issues.
Custom Build:
- When there are multiple projects in the workspace with custom build targets of the same name, the "right click project -> Custom Build Targets -> custom item" functionality always seems to run the targets from the ACTIVE project, not the one you actually clicked on.
- The "Project Settings -> General" tab has "Output File" and "intermediate Directory" disabled in custom build mode. Both of these values would make good $(xxx) parameters for use in the custom build setup, it'd be nice to be able to still change them.
- "Prebuild" and "Postbuild" tabs are disabled in custom build mode. There's no reason why you'd not want to perform configuration specific actions on either side of your custom build step. For example - I would like to copy my compiled files to a remote target in the "Postbuild" step. You could put the little checkboxes in the corner like on the Compiler and Linker tabs.
Configuration:
- Build configuration selection gets confused. I'm not entirely sure how to reproduce but combinations of changing "Project Settings->Configuration type", "Workspace Configuration" and the "Selected Configuration" dropdown seems to get the actual configuration out of sync with the displayed configuration.
Debugging:
- When debugging a remote target that's not listening gdb returns 'Connection Refused' but Codelite stays in debug mode. It'd be nice if this automatically exited debug mode so that you could start again easily.
- Optional "kill target on exit" in debugger settings. This would send a 'kill' to the debuggee when forcing exiting from debug mode through the Debug->Stop Debugger menu. The reason for this is that if you stop debugging a remote target and forget to send it a 'kill' manually you have to go through a start debug-kill-stop debug cycle to free up the target machine again.
Editor/GUI:
- Closing the last file in the editor collapses the entire workspace - very annoying.
- Selecting file in the editor tracks it in the workspace tree. It sounds cool but it's quite annoying with huge file lists - it'd be nice if it was an editor option.
- Make bracket matching optional. On my slower dev machine passing over a bracket with the cursor causes a 1-2 second pause while it finds the other end and does the highlight.
I'm not being picky, just pointing out what I'd like
Regards,
Jansic
Custom Build Behaviour
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 5:49 pm
- Contact:
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Custom Build Behaviour
Hi,
In general, I prefer that all bugs/feature request are reported at SF site.
See below my comments:
This will break the 'link to editor' functionality, which does the following:
- synchronizes between the editor and the tree
- collapses tree on last file closure
Eran
In general, I prefer that all bugs/feature request are reported at SF site.
See below my comments:
This is a regression bug, and I will fix it, EDIT: This bug is now fixed in SVNjansic wrote:- When there are multiple projects in the workspace with custom build targets of the same name, the "right click project -> Custom Build Targets -> custom item" functionality always seems to run the targets from the ACTIVE project, not the one you actually clicked on.
jansic wrote:- The "Project Settings -> General" tab has "Output File" and "intermediate Directory" disabled in custom build mode. Both of these values would make good $(xxx) parameters for use in the custom build setup, it'd be nice to be able to still change them.
Please submit a feature requests for the above quotesjansic wrote:- "Prebuild" and "Postbuild" tabs are disabled in custom build mode. There's no reason why you'd not want to perform configuration specific actions on either side of your custom build step. For example - I would like to copy my compiled files to a remote target in the "Postbuild" step. You could put the little checkboxes in the corner like on the Compiler and Linker tabs.
ofc, since I never experienced it, I will need a step-by-step details of how to reproduce it, once you have it, submit a bug at SFjansic wrote:- Build configuration selection gets confused. I'm not entirely sure how to reproduce but combinations of changing "Project Settings->Configuration type", "Workspace Configuration" and the "Selected Configuration" dropdown seems to get the actual configuration out of sync with the displayed configuration.
We can debate whether this is a feature or bug, anyways, submit a bug report for this as well.jansic wrote:- When debugging a remote target that's not listening gdb returns 'Connection Refused' but Codelite stays in debug mode. It'd be nice if this automatically exited debug mode so that you could start again easily.
At the bottom of the workspace file view, there are 2 buttons: one looks like (+) and other as hyperlink -> unpress this buttonjansic wrote: - Closing the last file in the editor collapses the entire workspace - very annoying.
- Selecting file in the editor tracks it in the workspace tree. It sounds cool but it's quite annoying with huge file lists - it'd be nice if it was an editor option.
This will break the 'link to editor' functionality, which does the following:
- synchronizes between the editor and the tree
- collapses tree on last file closure
Like the others, please make it a feature reuqestjansic wrote:- Make bracket matching optional. On my slower dev machine passing over a bracket with the cursor causes a 1-2 second pause while it finds the other end and does the highlight.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Custom Build Behaviour
I just committed a fix to SVN that fixes the following bug:jansic wrote:Configuration:
- Build configuration selection gets confused. I'm not entirely sure how to reproduce but combinations of changing "Project Settings->Configuration type", "Workspace Configuration" and the "Selected Configuration" dropdown seems to get the actual configuration out of sync with the displayed configuration.
- create a workspace
- add project (and adjust the configuration manager)
- now add second project (either from wizard or workspace -> new project)
once the project is added, codelite, accidentally marked both workspace configurations as active, this causes a confusion.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread