Hello,
when I build a project after changing the settings, I get "Nothing to be done".
But the new settings can require a new build.
I have to use "Rebuild Project" from the menu.
IMO it is not necessary to check each of the settings for a change, but it will do to set a flag when the user clicks Apply or OK.
When the user then starts a Build command, this flag could be checked, additional to the checking for changed code in editor and files.
Regards,
Fred
Suggestion: Build project after settings changed
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:53 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
- Jarod42
- CodeLite Expert
- Posts: 240
- Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:54 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Location: France
- Contact:
Re: Suggestion: Build project after settings changed
It is more complicated though...
in Settings, there are compiler, linker, debugger, resource settings, ...
The ideal should be to do only the needed things.
for example, if I change linker options, I don't need to recompile all files but I would just do the linker step (and next steps).
I would see possible solution for generated Makefile (with dummy files and additional dependencies)
(but not with custom build. I don't know this mode)...
in Settings, there are compiler, linker, debugger, resource settings, ...
The ideal should be to do only the needed things.
for example, if I change linker options, I don't need to recompile all files but I would just do the linker step (and next steps).
I would see possible solution for generated Makefile (with dummy files and additional dependencies)
(but not with custom build. I don't know this mode)...
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:53 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Suggestion: Build project after settings changed
Good evening Jarod,
As settings are not changed frequently, IMO it is ok to wait for some time until the build has been done.
Only with large monolithic projects a problem.
Regards,
Fred
As settings are not changed frequently, IMO it is ok to wait for some time until the build has been done.
Only with large monolithic projects a problem.
Regards,
Fred
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Suggestion: Build project after settings changed
A possible solution will be to prompt the user 'Project settings were modified, do you want to perform a re-build?' with little checkbox 'Remember my answer and don't annoy me again'Fred wrote:As settings are not changed frequently, IMO it is ok to wait for some time until the build has been done.
But then again, I definitely see myself (and many other users) clicking on the 'No' and 'Don't annoy me again' and we are back to square one
Performing a 'rebuild' without a user permission is a bad idea (rebuilding codelite itself in debug takes 7-8 minutes on Windows)
User should know what he is doing and if a rebuild is needed
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:53 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Suggestion: Build project after settings changed
Hello Eran,
thank you for your reply.
Regards,
Fred
thank you for your reply.
Yes, this would be only a temporary solution, but better than no warning. Perhaps without the checkbox?A possible solution will be to prompt the user 'Project settings were modified, do you want to perform a re-build?' with little checkbox 'Remember my answer and don't annoy me again'
But then again, I definitely see myself (and many other users) clicking on the 'No' and 'Don't annoy me again' and we are back to square one
I fully agree.Performing a 'rebuild' without a user permission is a bad idea (rebuilding codelite itself in debug takes 7-8 minutes on Windows)
User should know what he is doing and if a rebuild is needed
Regards,
Fred
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 43
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:53 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Suggestion: Build project after settings changed
Hello,
there is another related problem:
My project tree contains 2 icons, which are referenced by the rc file.
After editing them with a resource editor, these changes are not recognized, and windres is not started on Build.
I have to Rebuild.
Regards,
Fred
there is another related problem:
My project tree contains 2 icons, which are referenced by the rc file.
After editing them with a resource editor, these changes are not recognized, and windres is not started on Build.
I have to Rebuild.
Regards,
Fred