Page 1 of 1
Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:12 pm
by cppki
I have Qt 4.4.1 and latest version of Codelite. And I want codelite to autocomplete names of members of Qt classes. I have create external tag database for Qt includes, attached this tags and re-tagged the current cpp-file but autocomplete not works. How to force autocomplete to work?
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:27 pm
by aaulia
Seconded, I use Qt (learning it) frequently the last couple of days, although it's rather minor, but still it would really help a lot.
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:31 pm
by eranif
cppki wrote:I have Qt 4.4.1 and latest version of Codelite. And I want codelite to autocomplete names of members of Qt classes. I have create external tag database for Qt includes, attached this tags and re-tagged the current cpp-file but autocomplete not works. How to force autocomplete to work?
Are u on windows / Linux / Mac ? which CL revision?
Make sure that create tag database from the entire QT directory and not only 'include'
when the wizard starts, select the root directory of QT - on Ubuntu, you should set it
Check *all* entries that you are interested. like:
QtXml, QtCore, QtGUi etc.
The tags file should be about 17MB more or less
Eran
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:36 pm
by eranif
Ok, incase you fail to create the tags database, here is one that can help you:
http://codelite.org/download/qt-tags.zip
Download this file, unzip it and attach it to CodeLite.
TO attach:
- first close the current external tags datagase Tags -> Close external database
- attach: Tags -> Attach external database
From this point you should have QT Code completion available, this database also include code completion for STL (std::string, std::map etc.)
Since the tags were created on my machine, the following will probably wont work:
- go to implementation / declaration to any of QT's symbols (e.g. QString) since the file paths stored in the database are taken from my machine
Eran
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:55 pm
by aaulia
Woah nice !!! I get code completition
I get aroung 80 MB of tag file, maybe since I choose all the directory to be parsed
, anyway I have a question, if I specify common.tags, would it overwrite it or add to it ?
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:59 pm
by eranif
aaulia wrote:Woah nice !!! I get code completition
I get aroung 80 MB of tag file, maybe since I choose all the directory to be parsed
, anyway I have a question, if I specify common.tags, would it overwrite it or add to it ?
It will get appended.
This is how I create a tags file for both STL & QT & wxWidgets.
I first created QT, then I ran the wizard again selecting the STL root directory and setting the same database name.
It is also mentioned on the wizard dialog (at the bottom).
EDIT: 80MB is a lot. Try to select what you need, otherwise, you may notice some delay code completion. For me STL + wxWidgets + QT is around 30MB
Eran
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 10:18 pm
by aaulia
Oh well I already did it, is there a way to remove spesific tags from external tag database ? All I know is how to fix the path, and add to it, but not remove from it. Anyway this make me love CL even more
, man so many things to play with.
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:24 pm
by eranif
aaulia wrote:is there a way to remove spesific tags from external tag database ?
Well, not officially
Since tags database is actually an sqlite database, you can simply use sqlite3 command line tool for this.
(Again, I dont know your OS, so I will assume Linux):
- install sqlite3 exe:
- close CodeLite
- attach to the codelite tags database:
- delete what you dont want, the fastest will be to drop by file name, like this:
-
Code: Select all
delete from tags where file like '/usr/local/include%%'
this will delete all entries that their file name starts with '/usr/local/include'
HTH,
Eran
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:57 am
by aaulia
Hmm ok I'll try thanks. You've been very responsive
.
EDIT:
Ok I got 70 MB for Qt and STL, here is what I do and my path
STL : C:\MinGW\include\c++\3.4.5
Qt : C:\Qt\4.4.2\include & C:\Qt\4.4.2\src
I check everything in there.
Re: Codelite, Qt and autocomplete
Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:40 am
by cppki
Thanks to all! I just let wizard to parse include and src directories and now it works.