Page 1 of 1

Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:21 am
by zaphod
I have Linux Mint 14, gcc 4.7.2 with Codelite 5.1
My application runs just fine outside the IDE and it runs with the debugger within the IDE. But it won't run directly from the IDE.

The interface script output looks like this:
Current working directory: /media/art/C/art_show
Running program: /usr/bin/codelite_xterm './art_show ' '/bin/sh -f /usr/bin/codelite_exec ./art_show '
Program exited with return code: -1
I had been using Ubuntu 10.10 and an earlier Codelite -- all of which still works just fine from the same project file.

I originally titles this post: "Compiled executable is owned by root" but that was a red herring.
The work drive is formatted NTFS and mounted with the following fstab line:
UUID=029CFEEB0842DBCD /media/art ntfs-3g rw,dmask=000,fmask=000,umask=000,suid,dev,auto,async,exec,locale=en_US.utf8 0 2
(This takes care of making executables run on NTFS drives -- a problem I once had)


Any help will be appreciated...

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:46 pm
by DJBobo
I have this problem too on Xubuntu 12.04

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:28 pm
by DJBobo
I got the output:

Code: Select all

Running program: x-terminal-emulator -sb -title './MyNewGrid ' -e './MyNewGrid '
Program exited with return code: -1

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:33 pm
by eranif
DJBobo wrote:I got the output:

Code: Select all

Running program: x-terminal-emulator -sb -title './MyNewGrid ' -e './MyNewGrid '
Program exited with return code: -1
Have you tried running this *exact* command directly from the command line?

Eran

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:28 am
by zaphod
Yes, I have just run the command from the command line to no effect:
clive@Q9550 ~ $ cd /media/art/C/art_show
clive@Q9550 /media/art/C/art_show $ /usr/bin/codelite_xterm './art_show ' '/bin/sh -f /usr/bin/codelite_exec ./art_show '
So I checked that codelite_xterm was present, and it seems to be:
clive@Q9550 /media/art/C/art_show $ ls -l /usr/bin/codelite_xterm
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 668 Mar 20 13:32 /usr/bin/codelite_xterm
Is codelite_xterm just a bash script?

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:12 am
by eranif
zaphod wrote:Is codelite_xterm just a bash script?
Yes, its just a bash script. Do you have xterm installed? Try installing xterm and see if it help

Eran

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 6:40 pm
by zaphod
Will check that xterm is installed and report back in a week...

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:04 pm
by mindworm
I had the exact same problem under Ubuntu 12.10 with GCC 4.7.2 and Codelite 5.1 from the official repositories.

The execution path seems to be incorrect:

Code: Select all

Running program: /usr/lib/codelite/codelite_xterm './test_app ' '/bin/sh -f /usr/bin/codelite_exec ./test_app '
It should be /usr/bin/codelite/codelite_xterm.

As I don't know how to change that path in Codelite, I was able to solve the problem by just creating the directory codelite in /usr/lib and placing a symbolic link to /usr/bin/codelite_xterm within that folder.

Some kind of a dirty solution, but well, it works. :D

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:19 pm
by eranif
mindworm wrote:It should be /usr/bin/codelite/codelite_xterm.
According to the other posts, they all have their path set to /usr/bin/codelite_xterm - so I don't think its the same case.

Even if you installed the latest 5.1, your configuration files were not modified, so it might be there from previous versions of codelite

Eran

Re: Application runs but NOT within IDE

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:02 pm
by zaphod
I have just installed xterm on Mint 14 and things work fine :) It is apparently not part of the standard installation.

sudo apt-get install xterm


Thanks Eran.