Problem with debugger terminal

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
AndrzejB
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 4:29 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Problem with debugger terminal

Post by AndrzejB »

This is my first use of CodeLite; previously I used Code::Blocks.
I crated console program and I can't run debugger. I try change terminal - edit control of terminal is strange, I can't move cursor, backspace not works and not see mouse pointer (may be it only with Linux under VirtualBox?) I paste name gnome-terminal from Code:Blocks but it also not works, maybe because it is without path.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Problem with debugger terminal

Post by eranif »

I am not sure I follow the problem here.
Please provide a detailed steps for reproducing the problem + read the HOW TO POST thread (check my signature)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
AndrzejB
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 4:29 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Problem with debugger terminal

Post by AndrzejB »

My OS is Linux Mint 17.2 "Rafaela" - Cinnamon (64-bit) inside Version 5.0.10 r104061 on Windows 8.1 64bit.
My CodeLite version is 9.0.5, installed from .deb.
Reproduce:

New workspace C++ : test.workspace
new project, not necessary console, can be first wxWidgets GUI Application.: test.project
GCC Compiler and GNU Gdb debugger
Press green Arrow - it show warning: Could not launch terminal fro debugger
Settngs->Preferences->Terminal is gnome-terminal '$(TITLE)' '$(CMD)'
I click on Settngs->Preferences->Terminal edit control
Press backspace - not deleted letters, problems with moving with arrows and mouse pointer hiding
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Problem with debugger terminal

Post by eranif »

When debugging, CodeLIte only supports xterm.
Please run:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install xterm
Also, xterm can be configured to behave like a modern terminal:

http://codelite.org/LiteEditor/Linux-sp ... erTerminal

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
AndrzejB
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 4:29 am
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Problem with debugger terminal

Post by AndrzejB »

It working. GUI application must have debugger terminal?
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Problem with debugger terminal

Post by eranif »

AndrzejB wrote:GUI application must have debugger terminal?
No.

Project Settings->General->This program is a GUI application

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply