Page 1 of 2

CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:32 pm
by KEhrhardt
I recently upgraded Codelite from 3034 to 3681. My project builds fine, however Codelight wont display the functions, prototypes and macros for any of the files in the project in the outline tab of the workspace view. :cry: I have retagged the project multiple times. Tried retagging from the Workspace drop down (Retag full), and the dialog comes up and it is processing the files. Still doesn't work. Tried retagging the project only. Doesn't work. Tried retagging an individual file. Doesn't work. I added a path to the include files using Settings->Tag Settings->Include Files. Doesn't work. Tried "Retag workspace on workspace startup". Nope. Set "Mark files and dirs in file explorer that contribute tags is bold", and all the .c and .h files in my project show up in bold. So I think the tagging is getting done, but Codelight is not processing this tagged information properly.

When I installed 3681, I did not remove 3034, since I wanted to maintain my workspace/build settings. I have done this before with earlier upgrades of Codelight without issue. Could this be causing the problem? I could do a 'clean install' but how do I retain my workspace/build settings? I did backup the codelight config directory prior to the upgrade.

Thanks

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:03 pm
by eranif
What you are missing is the 'Symbol View' plugin. It was removed when codelite moved to version 2.0

This was because the author of that plugin did not upgrade it to the new infrastructure of codelite.

Eran

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:23 pm
by KEhrhardt
eranif wrote:What you are missing is the 'Symbol View' plugin. It was removed when codelite moved to version 2.0

This was because the author of that plugin did not upgrade it to the new infrastructure of codelite.

Eran
So is there a new plugin or is this functionality currently not supported in CodeLite 2.0?

Also, one of my other projects in the workspace seems to display functions and variables correctly?

I did not know that this functionality was a plugin, I thought it was native to Codelite.

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:41 pm
by eranif
I think that it is better if you post here 2 screenshots:
1) of what u had in codelite 3034
2) what you currently have

Eran

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 8:19 pm
by KEhrhardt
Ok,
Attached are two files, funcs.jpg and nofuncs.jpg. They are both from version 3681. Same file, two different projects. One project seems to display functions/variables/macros, the other does not. Thanks

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:19 pm
by eranif
OK. My mistake, this tab is part of the core IDE and not a plugin, I thought you meant the SymbolView.

Some questions:
- Is this fie part of the workspace?
- What happen when u click 'Ctrl-Shift-O' ?
- If it is part of the workspace, I suggest that you remove the project path from the tags settings -> include settings, and try a full retag (from the menu: workspace -> retag workspace (full))

Once the tagging is completed, paste here the output of the 'Trace' tab

Eran

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 11:57 pm
by KEhrhardt
eranif wrote:
Some questions:
- Is this fie part of the workspace?
- What happen when u click 'Ctrl-Shift-O' ?
- If it is part of the workspace, I suggest that you remove the project path from the tags settings -> include settings, and try a full retag (from the menu: workspace -> retag workspace (full))

Once the tagging is completed, paste here the output of the 'Trace' tab

Eran
1) Yes it is part of the workspace.
2) Ctrl-Shift-O: See attached file
3) After retag workspace (full) - same problem
4) Trace tab: See attached file

Thanks

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:00 am
by KEhrhardt
One other thing I would point out. The project that works has the gcc toolchain selected.
The project that doesn't work uses a custom build step to invoke the compiler (Green Hills).
In fact, I tried all the projects I have that use this custom build (Green Hills) and they no longer work (can't display functions/variables/macros).

So does the new "tag crawling" algorithm depend on anything specified in the project file like the toolchain?

I tried changing the complier to gcc and disabling the custom build, but no joy. This is certainly frustrating. :?

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 1:23 am
by eranif
I am sorry, my brain was probably sleeping while you posted your first post :)

CodeLite does not keep the same symbols twice in the symbols database.

So, if the files are identical (even when they are located under different paths), then codelite will only save each symbol once.

I find it strange that you say it worked for you in previous versions of codelite

Eran

Re: CodeLite won't display functions in outline tab

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:57 pm
by KEhrhardt
Well I worked around the problem by deleting the old project and creating a new project in the workspace. Now she works. :D Something must have been messed up in the .project file?