Page 1 of 1

Debugger problem - attach to process

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:00 pm
by ogee77
Hello,

I am using CL rev. 3846, self built on fedora 8 64bit using g++ 4.1.2. I have gdb 6.6-35 installed.
The debugger works fine while debugging in a usual way, i.e. setting a breakpoint and pressing 'Start/Continue debugger'.
The problem pops up when I run an application from a terminal and then try to attach to a process just started.

In Debug window i got:

Using gdbinit file: /home/ogee77/.gdbinit
Failed to initialize debugger: /usr/bin/gdb

In Trace window:

05:54:16 PM: Launching console: /home/ogee77/codelite/cl-install/bin/codelite_xterm 'CodeLite: gdb' 'sleep 83905'
05:54:17 PM: Failed to allocate console for debugger

The debugger is not run.

This happens only when trying to attach to a process. I made a simple console application to test it and the problem reappears.

What can be the cause of it?

Regards,
Paul

Re: Debugger problem - attach to process

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:44 pm
by eranif
I will look at it today.

Someone just opened a bug in SF that mentioned that codelite_xterm cant run with space if the $(TITLE) contains spaces (which is the the case here)

change the Terminal command to be:

xterm -title '$(TITLE) -e '$(CMD)'

from 'settings -> global editor pereferences -> Terminal'

This will fix this.
Eran

Re: Debugger problem - attach to process

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:14 pm
by ogee77
There is quote missing after $(TITLE), so it should be:

xterm -title '$(TITLE)' -e '$(CMD)'

It solved the problem. Thanks for a fast resposne.

Re: Debugger problem - attach to process

Posted: Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:15 am
by eranif
ogee77 wrote:There is quote missing after $(TITLE)
Yes, typo :)

Eran