Binding wxW.dll
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:21 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Binding wxW.dll
Hi there,
I have to Compile my Sourcecode for Windows. So, when i get the EXE-File and want to run, I get a Error, saying that thw "wxw294.dll" is missing.
Is it possible to Bind the required dll's in the EXE-File in CodeLite? If It's possible, how?
I`m using CodeLite 5.1; Installed CodeLite with the Installer at Windows 8.1 and i`m using the g++ Compiler.
Thank you
Casisto
I have to Compile my Sourcecode for Windows. So, when i get the EXE-File and want to run, I get a Error, saying that thw "wxw294.dll" is missing.
Is it possible to Bind the required dll's in the EXE-File in CodeLite? If It's possible, how?
I`m using CodeLite 5.1; Installed CodeLite with the Installer at Windows 8.1 and i`m using the g++ Compiler.
Thank you
Casisto
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:21 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
Ok, I have done this. And now?
I want to say CodeLite: "take the dll and pack it in the exe..."
And, i must say, last weak i have used Geany and at work VC++, I'm still new with the CodeLite IDE.
I want to say CodeLite: "take the dll and pack it in the exe..."
And, i must say, last weak i have used Geany and at work VC++, I'm still new with the CodeLite IDE.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
If you did everything properly, you should now have a new file named libwx<somethimg>.aCasisto wrote:I want to say CodeLite: "take the dll and pack it in the exe..."
the .a means its an archive - now you should rebuild your application and link it against this archive and it will be part of the executable
To tell codelite to link against the new library, you need to set it in the linker settings, from:
Right click on the project icon -> settings -> common settings -> linker -> libraries
PS. you should upgrade to codelite 5.4 (codelite 6.0 will be out in a week or two), codelite 5.1 is old
http://codelite.org and click the big green icon
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:21 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
Hi there,
I've try now to add the 2 dll my exe need in the exe.
As eranif said:
Library Path:
Libraries:
The Compiler and Linker don't give e a error. But when I try to use the exe, I get still the Message I need the DLLs.
Can Somebody help me?
And another Question, I have a GUI with 3 PNG, is there a way to add them to the exe too?
I've try now to add the 2 dll my exe need in the exe.
As eranif said:
I've try it with:Right click on the project icon -> settings -> common settings -> linker -> libraries
Library Path:
andC:/Users/.../V0_0_3/resources
Libraries:
Note: "..." is for anonymization; an the DLLs are in a Resource-Folder and added to "resources" in the Project-Folder.wxbase294ud_gcc_cl.dll;wxmsw294ud_core_gcc_cl.dll
The Compiler and Linker don't give e a error. But when I try to use the exe, I get still the Message I need the DLLs.
Can Somebody help me?
And another Question, I have a GUI with 3 PNG, is there a way to add them to the exe too?
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
So you now have your program compiled properly, however, when you run it, you need to make the dll accessible ( it should be in the PATH environment variable or, just copy it next to the executable )
To learn how to embed png to an executable, you shou visit the wxWidgets forum
Eran
To learn how to embed png to an executable, you shou visit the wxWidgets forum
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:21 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
Yes Sure,
but is there no way I can make a "Standalone"-Exe, so that I don't must give the DLL's with it?
but is there no way I can make a "Standalone"-Exe, so that I don't must give the DLL's with it?
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
You can. You need to build wxWidgets as static library and not as DLL
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 9
- Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:21 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
Is there a "How to do" for Windows?
I get only errors when I try to compile it like described in http://wiki.wxwidgets.org/WxWidgets_Bui ... igurations
he says he dont know the command "mingw32-make"... but I have mingw installed...
And I have try it with the "wxWidgets 2.9.4 Setup.exe" from Sourceforce, now I have a filled wxWidgets-2.9.4 folder, but I dont know if I have something needful...
(Note: I`m not really fit with the Windows-OS, the last one I had was the XP, normally I'm useing Ubuntu or Fedora and there I never had problems with a installation or GTKmm... this is also the reson I'm using CodeLite5.1, there is a wxWidgets-version included...)
I get only errors when I try to compile it like described in http://wiki.wxwidgets.org/WxWidgets_Bui ... igurations
he says he dont know the command "mingw32-make"... but I have mingw installed...
And I have try it with the "wxWidgets 2.9.4 Setup.exe" from Sourceforce, now I have a filled wxWidgets-2.9.4 folder, but I dont know if I have something needful...
(Note: I`m not really fit with the Windows-OS, the last one I had was the XP, normally I'm useing Ubuntu or Fedora and there I never had problems with a installation or GTKmm... this is also the reson I'm using CodeLite5.1, there is a wxWidgets-version included...)
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Binding wxW.dll
No. Since this is out of scope of codelite.Casisto wrote:Is there a "How to do" for Windows?
You might want to try in the wxWidgets forum
You can download binaries from wxWidgets SF directly. Since wx3.0 they started building binaries for MinGWCasisto wrote: this is also the reson I'm using CodeLite5.1, there is a wxWidgets-version included...)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/wxwindo ... /binaries/
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread