Clang autocomplete does not work

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
CyberRascal
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 9:21 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Clang autocomplete does not work

Post by CyberRascal »

After much fiddling, I have managed to get it *somewhat* working.

I've installed gcc 4.6.3 alongside 4.7.0.

When pointing at those headers in workspace/code-completion it fixed the errors. However, I couldn't get a single completion item from under std, even if I included string, for example. Spent a lot of time fiddling, trying to find out why this was, etc. Then I finally gave up and shut down my computer.

After a while I came back, booted and lo and behold, completion started working! Maybe some temporary caching?

There are some weird things though - at one time it stopped working, saying that a local include could not be found. Tried to find out why this was so, but I could see nothing obvious. It fixed itself when I restarted Codelite.

Also, it doesn't work well with boost::time or boost::thread. I guess it probably somehow boils down to me having a gutted installation of GCC 4.6, even though clang should be looking in the right headers as per my settings.

You might want to test GCC 4.7 out though, if only because I'd appreciate some confirmation that it's not only on my side of things :p
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Clang autocomplete does not work

Post by eranif »

CyberRascal wrote:You might want to test GCC 4.7 out though, if only because I'd appreciate some confirmation that it's not only on my side of things :p
I tried.. but it seems that there is no GCC4.7 package available for ubuntu 12.04 in their official repositories (I and I dont want to build gcc...)

Once there will be one, I will give it a try.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
User avatar
Jarod42
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 240
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:54 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Clang autocomplete does not work

Post by Jarod42 »

CyberRascal wrote:I'm running a 'custom make project' since I want an IDE-agnostic project.
You can use Premake to generate stand alone projects (Codelite, makefile, ...).
Post Reply