Debugger issues

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
that one guy
CodeLite Curious
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:14 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: c++
Contact:

Debugger issues

Post by that one guy »

I've just installed cl and I can't get the debugger to run. I've tried hitting F5, pressing the play button, and using the debug menu selecting Start/continue debugger, however none of these options have done anything. CL doesn't seem to react at all when I do any of these. I've tried looking around for an error log of some kind and the only thing I've found is 'trace' and that was absent of any errors regarding debugging.. the only error I found was this: "Error: can't open file '/home/user/.codelite/subversion/config' (error 2: No such file or directory)" I am using linux in case this has anything to do with it.
DavidGH
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 819
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Debugger issues

Post by DavidGH »

Hi,

What is the first line of the output from doing, in a terminal: gdb -v
Does gdb successfully debug your app in a terminal?

What happens if you 'run' your app inside CL? Does that work?

(If the above hasn't solved the issue...) When you try to debug inside CL, does the 'Output Pane' open, with the debugger section shown? If so, turn on 'Enable debugger full logging' (a checkbox in the top-lefthand corner of the Output Pane).

Regards,

David
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger issues

Post by eranif »

that one guy wrote:I've just installed cl and I can't get the debugger to run. I've tried hitting F5, pressing the play button, and using the debug menu selecting Start/continue debugger, however none of these options have done anything
To add to what DavidGH suggested:
Do you have a workspace / project opened?
If not, this is the reason why not. If you wish to debug an external executable without the need of project (i.e. to use codelite as an interface to gdb) use the option from the menu: 'Debug | Quick Debug...'
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply