Hi!
First of all, thanks for CodeLite it is great!
I have a question:
- How to configure CodeLite with a MSW (Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition) compiler as default?
Thanks
Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:27 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
Open your project settings, and change the compiler to VC++.
If you have some problems with the compiler tools, you can edit them from: settings -> build settings -> compilers, and select VC++.
Note that codelite fits the best with the GNU tools
Eran
If you have some problems with the compiler tools, you can edit them from: settings -> build settings -> compilers, and select VC++.
Note that codelite fits the best with the GNU tools
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:27 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
I did itOpen your project settings, and change the compiler to VC++.
Compiler output says:
----------Build Started--------
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe /c ""C:/MinGW4/bin/mingw32-make.exe" -j 2 -f "vs_test_wsp.mk""
----------Building project:[ vs_test - Debug ]----------
mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/Documents and Settings/PeCe/Moje dokumenty/vs_test/vs_test'
Nazwa 'cl.exe' nie jest rozpoznawana jako polecenie wewn©trzne lub zewn©trzne,
program wykonywalny lub plik wsadowy.
mingw32-make[1]: *** [Debug/main.obj] Error 1
mingw32-make.exe: *** [All] Error 2
cl.exe /nologo /c "C:/Documents and Settings/PeCe/Moje dokumenty/vs_test/vs_test/main.cpp" /Zi /FoDebug/main.obj "/IC:/Program Files/Microsoft SDKs/Windows/v6.0A/Include" "/I."
mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/Documents and Settings/PeCe/Moje dokumenty/vs_test/vs_test'
----------Build Ended----------
0 errors, 0 warnings
Why "mingw32" is used when I set VC++ compiler in "Project Setting" ?
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
Its because that mingw32-make is the builder, not the compiler.zuzu wrote:Why "mingw32" is used when I set VC++ compiler in "Project Setting" ?
You changed the compiler, but codelite still uses its makefiles to invoke the VC compiler (CL.EXE)
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:27 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
But in the "Build Settings -> Build System," there are no other choices.
What can i do?
Thanks
What can i do?
Thanks
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
There are no other "builders" (well, that is not entirely correct, in trunk there is a new builder for the "cobra" language, provided by hops)
What is the problem with the current builder? it is prefectly capable of running VC tools, I dont see the problem - its just the builder
Btw, can you translate the errors into English?
Eran
What is the problem with the current builder? it is prefectly capable of running VC tools, I dont see the problem - its just the builder
Btw, can you translate the errors into English?
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:27 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
Ok, i konw where is problem.
How to: Compile a Native C++ Program from the Command Line: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 80%29.aspx
"The Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt automatically sets up the correct path to the Visual C++ compiler and any needed libraries, so it is used instead of the regular Command Prompt window."
In default Command Prompt window cl.exe not work (name is not recognized),
because path for Visual Studio (include, libs etc.) directories not set.
We need first to run from the command line "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\bin\vsvars32.bat" and only now can compile.
I tried set path for "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\bin\vsvars32.bat" in Project Settings -> PreBuild" but nothing did help.
PS. Excuse me for my terrible English writing. Do you understand anything from this at all? (;
How to: Compile a Native C++ Program from the Command Line: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... 80%29.aspx
"The Visual Studio 2005 Command Prompt automatically sets up the correct path to the Visual C++ compiler and any needed libraries, so it is used instead of the regular Command Prompt window."
In default Command Prompt window cl.exe not work (name is not recognized),
because path for Visual Studio (include, libs etc.) directories not set.
We need first to run from the command line "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\bin\vsvars32.bat" and only now can compile.
I tried set path for "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\bin\vsvars32.bat" in Project Settings -> PreBuild" but nothing did help.
PS. Excuse me for my terrible English writing. Do you understand anything from this at all? (;
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
I completely understand your problem.
Currently the only solution is to open the 'Visual Studion 2008 command prompt' from the menu, and then launch codelite from this shell. "\Program Files\CodeLite\CodeLite.exe"
This will load codelite with all the correct paths.
I am currently working on a better solution for this, but for now this is the only available solution
Eran
Currently the only solution is to open the 'Visual Studion 2008 command prompt' from the menu, and then launch codelite from this shell. "\Program Files\CodeLite\CodeLite.exe"
This will load codelite with all the correct paths.
I am currently working on a better solution for this, but for now this is the only available solution
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Enthusiast
- Posts: 11
- Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 9:27 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: Visual C++ compiler in CodeLite
Wow, it work!Currently the only solution is to open the 'Visual Studion 2008 command prompt' from the menu, and then launch codelite from this shell. "\Program Files\CodeLite\CodeLite.exe"
Thanks!