codelite.xml changed?

Discussion about CodeLite development process and patches
frank_frl
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
Contact:

codelite.xml changed?

Post by frank_frl »

Hi Eran,

since rev 3227 CL always over wrights my codelite.xml. All external tools and other settings are gone. I restored everything after I updated to 3227 but after an update to 3229 it's gone again. And even if I try to replace codelite.xml with changed version from 3227, it is regenerated on start. :(

Frank
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by eranif »

Update to revision 3240 - it should be fixed there

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
frank_frl
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by frank_frl »

Hi Eran,

I updated to 3240 and restored all settings, hope they will survive next update ;)

But there is still the bug on MAC I described here: http://codelite.org/forum/viewtopic.php ... =610#p2657

And an idea for the output pane. You could make a checkbutton in the toolbar to change the visibility state. Normally I love that feature that the output pane is hiding when I click in the editor, but when I go through the errors or scope results etc. to changes something, it gets annoying. So a fast access to that feature would be great.

He, and compliments again CL is getting better everyday.

Regards,

Frank
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by eranif »

frank_frl wrote:And an idea for the output pane. You could make a checkbutton in the toolbar to change the visibility state. Normally I love that feature that the output pane is hiding when I click in the editor, but when I go through the errors or scope results etc. to changes something, it gets annoying. So a fast access to that feature would be great.
Yes, I noticed that its annoying sometimes - I will make it more 'accessible'

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by eranif »

Hi Frank,

I finally got my hands on my mac, and indeed the bug of resetting the settings persists even after the last "fix".

This issue is now solved (and tested on mac) as of revision 3262

Sorry for any inconvenience (you will need to reset your settings *again*)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
frank_frl
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by frank_frl »

Hi Eran,
Sorry for any inconvenience (you will need to reset your settings *again*)
No need to say sorry, thanks for such a nice IDE and I did a lot of CL updates without having any problems, that's great work you did :D

But this was not the MAC bug I actually mentioned.
When building on MAC I get this error:

Code: Select all

    Creating Mac bundle...
    Running install_name_tool...
    install_name_tool: changing install names can't be redone for: ../lib/Subversion.so (for architecture i386) because larger updated load commands do not fit (the program must be relinked)
Then when starting CL, this is in the Trace pane:

Code: Select all

    13:43:19: Failed to load plugin's dll: /Users/franklichtner/Dev/CodeLiteApp/CodeLite.app.3211.app/Contents/SharedSupport//plugins/Subversion.so
    13:43:19: dlopen(/Users/franklichtner/Dev/CodeLiteApp/CodeLite.app.3211.app/Contents/SharedSupport//plugins/Subversion.so, 1): Library not loaded: ./lib/libwxpropgridu.so
      Referenced from: /Users/franklichtner/Dev/CodeLiteApp/CodeLite.app.3211.app/Contents/SharedSupport//plugins/Subversion.so
      Reason: image not found
So the SVN plugin is not loaded on MAC and I can't use the SVN features.

Frank
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by eranif »

frank_frl wrote:So the SVN plugin is not loaded on MAC and I can't use the SVN features.
This is wierd. Since the Subversion plugin loads fine on my machine (10.5.2 / GCC4.0)

Btw, when u use codelite from the website, does it work for you? (the subversion plugin)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
frank_frl
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by frank_frl »

Hi Eran,

AFAIR the problem started with rev 3211 or one revision before.
My OSX is 10.5.8, GCC is 4.0

There are 2 strange things, in your make_mac_bundle.sh you just copy Subversion.so to CodeLite.app/Contents/SharedSupport/plugins/, so where comes this install_name_tool error message from. :?:

Then it looks like the svn plugin is searching for ./lib/libwxpropgridu.so in a path that not exists in your app. Where comes this reference from.
I searched through your whole code, but wxPropgrid seems to be nowhere used. The I removed the line 'fix_shared_object_depends libwxpropgrid' from make_mac_bundle.sh, but then CL crashed on start with a 'Missing ./lib/libwxpropgridu.so' error. So there must be a reference somewhere :(

I also tried a new checkout from SVN to get a clean project, but the problem persists.
Btw, I used the Linux way to compile CL on MAC with './configure, make' in terminal, I'll try tomorrow to compile with CL, maybe that helps.

Regards,

Frank
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6375
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by eranif »

frank_frl wrote:here are 2 strange things, in your make_mac_bundle.sh you just copy Subversion.so to CodeLite.app/Contents/SharedSupport/plugins/, so where comes this install_name_tool error message from.
from here:

Code: Select all

fix_shared_object_depends() {
	search_string=$1

	## Get list of files to work on
	file_list=`ls ../lib/*.so`
	file_list="${file_list} ${exe_name} "

	## Since the plugins must use the same wx configuration as the
	## executable, we can run the following command only once and
	## use the results to manipulate the plugins as well
	orig_path=`otool -L ${exe_name}  | grep ${search_string} | awk '{print $1;}'`

	## Loop over the files, and update the path of the wx library
	for file in ${file_list}
	do
			for path in ${orig_path}
			do
					new_path=`echo ${path} | xargs basename`
					install_name_tool -change ${orig_path} @executable_path/${new_path} ${file}
			done
	done
}
frank_frl wrote:Then it looks like the svn plugin is searching for ./lib/libwxpropgridu.so in a path that not exists in your app. Where comes this reference from.
this is because the 'install_name_tool' failed
frank_frl wrote:I also tried a new checkout from SVN to get a clean project, but the problem persists
Which revision? I fixed it in revision 3265
------------------------------------------------------------------------
r3265 | eranif | 2009-10-27 17:19:51 +0200 (Tue, 27 Oct 2009) | 1 line
- Plugins will no longer link against wxpropgrid
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
frank_frl
CodeLite Expert
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: codelite.xml changed?

Post by frank_frl »

Hi Eran,

I tried to build 3268 and 3269 now on MAC, but I got following error:

Code: Select all

CodeLite/asyncprocess.cpp:8: error: expected constructor, destructor, or type conversion before ‘*’ token
On my PC 3268 compiled fine.

Frank
Post Reply