no symbol for source files
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Contact:
no symbol for source files
Hi,
Since a couple of days I am using codelite 2.9.0.4684 installed from source tarball on my ubuntu 8.04. I appreciate it very much!
I have some question, here is the first one:
I can view all the symbols of my project if I select "current project" from the dropdown menu in the Symbols tag of the Workspace view, but if I select "current file" instead, then symbols are available only for .hpp, not for .cpp files.
Any hint?
Thank you in advance.
Since a couple of days I am using codelite 2.9.0.4684 installed from source tarball on my ubuntu 8.04. I appreciate it very much!
I have some question, here is the first one:
I can view all the symbols of my project if I select "current project" from the dropdown menu in the Symbols tag of the Workspace view, but if I select "current file" instead, then symbols are available only for .hpp, not for .cpp files.
Any hint?
Thank you in advance.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
1) (FYI) The symbols you are viewing are not generated from the CScope plugin, but rather from the SymbolView plugin
2) You should be able to view all symbols regardless of the file extension, assuming they meet the followings:
- The cpp file is part of your workspace
- Your workspace is retagged properly
Make sure that all the above is true, if you still can't see the symbols, try retagging your workspace from the *main* menu:
Workspace | Retag Workspace (full)
Eran
2) You should be able to view all symbols regardless of the file extension, assuming they meet the followings:
- The cpp file is part of your workspace
- Your workspace is retagged properly
Make sure that all the above is true, if you still can't see the symbols, try retagging your workspace from the *main* menu:
Workspace | Retag Workspace (full)
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Thank you for your incredibly prompt reply
All the .cpp files have been imported and they appear in the workspace tab together with the .hpp files. So I assume they are part of the workspace.
I tried mouse right/Retag Workspace, then Workspace/Retag Workspace (full), but nothing changed.
All the .cpp files have been imported and they appear in the workspace tab together with the .hpp files. So I assume they are part of the workspace.
I tried mouse right/Retag Workspace, then Workspace/Retag Workspace (full), but nothing changed.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Try to reproduce the problem using a minimal project, zip and attach it here (the entire workspace directory + all source files)
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Here it is.
Thank you.
Daniele
Thank you.
Daniele
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Uhm, no... you have a limit of 256 kb and my tgz is 773
My code is a total of 980 bytes in 3 files + makefile, but the .tags file is 3,7 Mb before compression.
How is it possible?
My code is a total of 980 bytes in 3 files + makefile, but the .tags file is 3,7 Mb before compression.
How is it possible?
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Because the tags files also includes symbols from the system include files which you are including in your code (e.g. stdio.h, stdlib.h etc)vpindarico wrote:but the .tags file is 3,7 Mb before compression.
How is it possible?
Just delete the '.tags' file and zip it
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Done.
Daniele
Daniele
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Thanks for the sample workspace.
The bug is now fixed in trunk.
In short, it turns out that the SymbolView plugin assumed that ".h" is the only valid extension for header files...
I changed the code to use codelite's FileExtManager class which handles it better (in your example the header file was named 'Useless.hpp') and it is working as expected now.
Eran
The bug is now fixed in trunk.
In short, it turns out that the SymbolView plugin assumed that ".h" is the only valid extension for header files...
I changed the code to use codelite's FileExtManager class which handles it better (in your example the header file was named 'Useless.hpp') and it is working as expected now.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:28 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: c++
- Contact:
Re: no symbol for source files
Thank you, I will try the trunk in the next few days.eranif wrote:Thanks for the sample workspace.
The bug is now fixed in trunk.
In short, it turns out that the SymbolView plugin assumed that ".h" is the only valid extension for header files...
I changed the code to use codelite's FileExtManager class which handles it better (in your example the header file was named 'Useless.hpp') and it is working as expected now.
Eran
Is there a board where to post suggestions or requests?
Daniele