Debugger problem - attach to process

CodeLite installation/troubleshooting forum
ogee77
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:43 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Debugger problem - attach to process

Post by ogee77 »

Hello,

I am using CL rev. 3846, self built on fedora 8 64bit using g++ 4.1.2. I have gdb 6.6-35 installed.
The debugger works fine while debugging in a usual way, i.e. setting a breakpoint and pressing 'Start/Continue debugger'.
The problem pops up when I run an application from a terminal and then try to attach to a process just started.

In Debug window i got:

Using gdbinit file: /home/ogee77/.gdbinit
Failed to initialize debugger: /usr/bin/gdb

In Trace window:

05:54:16 PM: Launching console: /home/ogee77/codelite/cl-install/bin/codelite_xterm 'CodeLite: gdb' 'sleep 83905'
05:54:17 PM: Failed to allocate console for debugger

The debugger is not run.

This happens only when trying to attach to a process. I made a simple console application to test it and the problem reappears.

What can be the cause of it?

Regards,
Paul
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger problem - attach to process

Post by eranif »

I will look at it today.

Someone just opened a bug in SF that mentioned that codelite_xterm cant run with space if the $(TITLE) contains spaces (which is the the case here)

change the Terminal command to be:

xterm -title '$(TITLE) -e '$(CMD)'

from 'settings -> global editor pereferences -> Terminal'

This will fix this.
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
ogee77
CodeLite Enthusiast
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:43 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger problem - attach to process

Post by ogee77 »

There is quote missing after $(TITLE), so it should be:

xterm -title '$(TITLE)' -e '$(CMD)'

It solved the problem. Thanks for a fast resposne.
User avatar
eranif
CodeLite Plugin
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
Genuine User: Yes
IDE Question: C++
Contact:

Re: Debugger problem - attach to process

Post by eranif »

ogee77 wrote:There is quote missing after $(TITLE)
Yes, typo :)

Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
Post Reply